Screenshot 2021-04-26 at 14.27.24.png


The Independent Media Association (IMA), formerly known as The Media Fund, operates as a cooperative, dedicated to promoting the work of independent media, i.e. media which is free from corporate and political control. 

The IMA supports news organisations that are run in the public interest. We support financially independent and factually accurate sources of information.


The IMA is launching the first edition of the Independent Media Awards - or IMAs - to highlight, showcase and reward independent outlets and journalists and promote and support the independent media sector as a whole. Awards will be delivered by a jury of professionals and industry experts and announced during an online ceremony in the Autumn. 


We invite all eligible outlets and journalists to apply for nominations in a maximum of two categories. In relevant categories (eg, investigation of the year...), you may submit up to 3 pieces of content, we accept content published in 2020-2021.

To be eligible, outlets need to have signed up to the Impress or the NUJ code of conduct and be financially independent (less than 50 percent is funded by corporations or the state). 


The award categories are: 



  1. Political reporting of the year

  2. Investigation of the year

  3. Best racial inequalities coverage

  4. Best Culture and Arts publication 

  5. Best Workplace and industrial relations reporting 

  6. Podcast or Livestream of the year

  7. International Reporting of the year

  8. Regional/local outlet of the year

  9. Best print publication

  10. Best digital publication

  11. Best use of social media

  12. Best Environmental Reporting

  13. Best Thematic Outlet

  14. Media-focused organisation (advocacy for better media)


Please write to with the name of the outlet, the relevant links and the category or categories you wish to be considered for. The deadline for applying is 7 October 2021.